• Contact Us
  • Business Log in
  • Get Listed Today
Posted on 04/03/2018 in Gluten Free Blogs

13 foods you'd never guess contain gluten

13 foods you'd never guess contain gluten


Although it's an American article it's still has awesome information by http://www.thisisinsider.com/foods-you-thought-were-gluten-free-but-are-not-2018-3


Beware of salt and vinegar chips.
Leah Rocketto/INSIDER
  • The more processed a food is, the greater the potential that exists for it to contain gluten.
  • Cross-contamination can be an issue with foods like french fries and pre-seasoned meats.
  • If something says it contains malt anything, stay away if you're gluten-free.
  • When in doubt, read the label carefully.


Generally speaking, the more processed a food is, the more likely it is that it contains gluten.

If you cook and bake most of your meals from scratch, it's easier to control potential gluten sources.

But, if you're out and about, and just looking for something good to grab and go, here are 13 items you should probably avoid if you're gluten-free.

Pickles

Pickles

Vinegar is used in the fermentation process of pickles.
Matthew Kassel


If you're familiar with the fermentation process used for pickles, you know that some form of vinegar is usually used. If that form is malt vinegar — your pickles are not gluten-free.

Malt vinegar is made with barley malt. Unlike other vinegars, it is not distilled, which means the gluten is still present in the finished product, according to the University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center.

Hot dogs and other sausages

Hot dogs and other sausages


Unless a hot dog or sausage specifically states that it is gluten-free, don't assume that it is. Recipes vary greatly, and some recipes involve bread crumbs.

Traditional British banger recipes call for rusks, which is a type of unleavened wheat bread. While gluten-free rusks are available, make sure that's what you're getting if you're hoping to avoid gluten.

French fries

French fries

Fryers can be a breeding ground for cross-contamination.
Richard Allaway/Flickr


Your favorite fries involve freshly-cut potatoes, salt, maybe some other seasonings, hot oil, and nothing else — right? Not if that fryer is also serving up onion rings, chicken nuggets, breaded fish patties, or any number of other battered and deep-fried foods.

Some restaurant facilities may have a dedicated gluten-free fryer, but you won't know for sure unless you ask.

Frozen veggies in sauce

Frozen veggies in sauce

If you're gluten-free you might want to avoid sauce on your frozen veggies.
miran/Flickr


Picture this: It's late, you're tired, and you're cruising through the frozen food aisle looking for something quick to cook when you get home. You spot a bag of frozen vegetables with some kind of tasty sauce and think it'd be perfect with that leftover grilled chicken breast you already have in the fridge.

Check what's in the sauce before you make your purchases — many sauces and gravies are thickened with wheat flour. Those veggies may not be the perfect meal solution after all.

Cheesecake filling

Cheesecake filling

Cheesecake filling is often made with wheat flour.
sabotrax/ Flickr


When you're making cheesecake at home, you can control what goes into it. But the premade ones you can find in the refrigerated aisle at the grocery store may contain sneaky gluten thanks to the wheat flour used to make the filling.

Make sure to read the label carefully if you're gluten-sensitive.

Self-basting poultry

Self-basting poultry

Chances are you don't know everything that's in the basting mixture.
Kimberly Vardeman/Flickr


When you're avoiding gluten, you should always be skeptical of prepared — or partially prepared — foods, such as self-basting poultry. What's in the mixture that the poultry is bathing in as it cooks? Reading the label thoroughly is the only way to be sure.

Pre-seasoned meats

Pre-seasoned meats

Deli meats have potential for cross-contamination.
Rebecca Cook/Reuters


Just like the self-basting poultry, pre-seasoned meats — including things you might pick up at your local deli counter — may contain gluten. If you suffer from celiac disease or have a wheat allergy, you might be better off skipping the deli counter altogether due to the potential for cross-contamination.

If purchasing pre-packaged deli items, always read the label to determine whether it meets the needs of any dietary restrictions you may have.

Soups

Soups

Both canned and prepared soups can contain gluten.
Sarah Schmalbruch/INSIDER


Chicken and dumplings can be made gluten-free — but unless it specifically says so on the label, you should assume that it isn't. Many soups are thickened with wheat flour, or contain gluten-laden ingredients such as noodles. This goes for the fresh vats of soup made on-site at your favorite gourmet grocery stores, as well as the stuff in the canned soup aisle.

Multi-grain or "artisanal" tortilla chips

Multi-grain or

Multi-grain may be healthy, but it's not necessarily gluten-free.
Shutterstock


Plain old nixtamalized corn, salt, and oil are the most common ingredients in many tortilla chips. If all the chip factory makes is those chips and maybe some corn tortillas, those are probably pretty safe to eat for anyone who's avoiding gluten.

However, when you start mixing that corn with other grains to make multi-grain chips, the resulting chips are often not gluten-free. If the factory produces many other things besides pure corn products, cross-contamination may also be an issue.

Seasoned potato chips

Seasoned potato chips

Salt and vinegar chips are a no-np for those with celiac disease.
Shutterstock


Just like with pre-seasoned meats and self-basting poultry, seasoned potato chips can be a source of sadness for those sticking to a gluten-free diet.

Remember those sea salt and vinegar chips you used to love? Some chip recipes use malt vinegar, which means you should avoid them (see above for an explanation why).

However, some other chip recipes do use additional types of vinegar that may be perfectly safe for those following a gluten-free diet. Read the label to find out whether it belongs in your shopping basket or left on the shelf.

Granola or energy bars

Granola or energy bars

Not all oats and granola are gluten free.
Vegan Feast Catering / Flickr


There's no doubt that some granola and energy bars are delicious, and are just the kind of pick-me-up you need during a busy day. But just like other pre-made foods, if it doesn't explicitly say that it's certified gluten-free, you'll need to read the label to judge whether it fits your snacking needs.

It's also worth repeating here that not all oats are gluten-free— in fact, unless they're grown and processed in dedicated facilities that do not also process gluten-containing ingredients, they're probably not. Keep that in mind as you make your granola bar choices.

Malt anything

Malt anything

Malt beans.
HQuality/Shutterstock


Most products containing malt or malt extract are not considered safe for anyone following a gluten-free diet. That's because most of the time, malt is made from barley, which means it contains gluten.

Gluten-Free Living Magazine says that malt is occasionally made from corn, which would make it gluten-free, but that's pretty rare. Sadly, this means no more malt vinegar for your fish n' chips.

Beer

Beer

Most brewing styles involve wheat and/or barley.
Sarah Jacobs/Business Insider


Bad news, beer fans: Many traditional styles of brewing beer involve wheat and/or barley in the process.

However, that doesn't mean you can't have any beer at all if you're trying to stick to a gluten-free diet. Instead, check out this helpful guide from Holidaily Brewing Company founder Karen W. Hertz about the many differences between gluten-reduced and gluten-free beer on the market.

Contact This Member

Join Our Newsletter